Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 11.43.33 AMhttp://zeroenergyproject.org

So, really funny story but…I got all mad one night and deleted my first blog. Like, the whole thing. All 10 posts. Which, when you think about it, probably means I wasted at least a good 12 hours (conservatively) of my life…all for naught. That was such a “me” thing to do. But there is a silver lining.

I went to an anniversary party and had a great discussion with a childhood friend. Who, as it happens, read my blog. She said that one day she brainstormed all of the possible things she could write a blog about…and I mean, there are SO MANY things to blog about (kids, food, clothes, fitness, cats). But I realized after talking to her that I have an advantage here…I am blogging about a relatively remote topic, one that if enough people read about, might become popular (I’m talking, Cher Horowitz from Clueless popular).

Green building is such a broad term. Now there are so many more “hardcore” green terms when it comes to homebuilding. Zero Energy…that one is pretty intense. Tori Amos in your angsty teen years, intense. The basic requirement for a Zero Energy home is that it, in theory, uses ZERO ENERGY. Let me explain via Wikipedia in all her knowledgeable glory…

“A Zero Energy building is a building with zero net energy consumption, meaning the total amount of energy used by the building on an annual basis is roughly equal to the amount of renewable energy created on the site”. 

Another über green term being tossed around nowadays is the Passive Home. This one is my favorite because it’s like the house now has it’s own personality. I bet this Passive House is also a total tool.  Again, relying on my homegirl Wikipedia: 

“The term passive house (Passivhaus in German) refers to a rigorous, voluntary standard for energy efficiency in a building, reducing its ecological footprint.[1] It results in ultra-low energy buildings that require little energy for space heating or cooling”.

So which kind are we building? To be honest, I really never was a “labels” person. But our house is somewhere in between.

Anyway, my dear readers, I have decided to forge on with my blog. Maybe now that our Permit saga has ended the blog will be less dramatic and more informative (In a heard it from a friend, who heard it from her mom, non-journalistic sort of way).

